//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

15 Ways to Recycle Star Wars Movie Memorabilia

If you have never heard of the epic film franchise Star Wars then you literally must be from outer space. The films, created by George Lucas, are some of the most successful in movie history, and they have become a pop culture phenomenon for fans around the world.

All of the films, from the first Star Wars released in 1977, all the way up to the most recent Episode III: Revenge of the Sith released in 2005, have spawned millions of movie memorabilia, from books to bedspreads, action figures to lunch boxes. There is a huge demand for Star Wars memorabilia from fans who can’t get enough of the sci-fi classic, but there are some fans who are going green with their collections and recycling original merchandise into cool new products.

Here are 10 examples of innovative ways to recycleStar Wars memorabilia, all for sale on Etsy:

  1. Recycled Star Wars Comic Book Flask

“May the drink be with you” as you sip from this cool flask which is covered with an image from old Star Wars comic book. Created by goblinhut.

2.  Upcycled Star Wars Shirt

Upcycled Designs added some pizzazz to a boring plaid shirt by stitching in designs from an old Star Wars t-shirt.

3.  Vintage Star Wars Comic Book Coasters

Crabappledesign created these cool coasters from a 1979 Star Wars comic book.

4.  Recycled Star Wars T-Shirt Pillow

Now you can sleep next to Darth Vader, Lando Calrisian and Boba Fett! This pillow was made from an old Star Wars t-shirt. Created by mytshirtpillow.

5.  Recycled Star Wars Album Clock

Records and Stuff created this custom wall clock from “The Story of the Empire Strikes Back” album.

6.  Recycled Star Wars Cardback Notebooks

These 50-page spiral notebooks are made from 1980-82 ORIGINAL Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back Kenner cardbacks. Created by gawthrok.

7.  Recycled Return of the Jedi Sheet Skirt

This fully lined skirt with pockets is made from a vintage Return of the Jedi sheet. Created by BongaChop Shop.

8.  Recycled Ewok Action Figure Picture Frame

This custom bamboo picture frame designed by goblinhut is made from two vintage Ewok action figures and can hold a 4X6 picture.

9.  Recycled Star Wars VHS Tape Bookmark

This bookmark is made from an old Star Wars: Return of the Jedi VHS case. Created by Movie Film Bows.

10.  Recycled Darth Vader Lego Earrings

You can have Darth Vader “hang out” with you all of the time with these earrings, which CrimsonKing created from old Lego pieces.

11.  Recycled Star Wars Movie Poster Gift Tags

These gift tags are made from “Star Wars Posters from Around the World” playing cards. Created by MareBear.

12.  Recycled Star Wars Canvas Purse

This purse designed by BongaChop Shop is made from a vintage Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back rubberized canvas.

13.  Recycled Star Wars Sheets Dress

This cute dress created by 75Rabbit is made from vintage Star Wars sheets.

14.  Recycled Star Wars Film Strip Hair Bows

Movie Film Bows designed these hair bows which are made from 35 mm film of Star Wars Episode III.

15.  Recycled Star Wars Trading Cards Belt

This reversible belt designed by Hips123 is made from vintage Star Wars trading cards.

About Trish Broome

Trish is a half Korean hip hop head who writes satire music articles on The Rap Insider and muses over culture and diversity on Mixed Nation. In her spare time you can find her eating kimchi or tweeting at @TheGreenGroove.

Discussion

84 thoughts on “15 Ways to Recycle Star Wars Movie Memorabilia

  1. I love love LOVE the sheet dress, although I’d probably wear it as a negligee — with my hair in Princess Leia buns — but that’s probably for a whole other post!

    😉

    Posted by Mikalee Byerman | August 11, 2011, 3:00 pm
  2. Creative use of the film strip! Awesome stuff! You’re a hot sauce addict! Yes!! Me too!! Sorry, just had to throw that in there.

    Congrats on getting FP!

    Edwin

    Posted by The Awkward List | August 11, 2011, 3:08 pm
  3. Love the clock! Can’t you just see a spinoff of these ideas on “The Big Bang Theory” this fall?

    Posted by pezcita | August 11, 2011, 3:12 pm
  4. OK, I’ll be the geeky one, that’s boba fett on the pillow not a storm trooper!

    Posted by chris weston | August 11, 2011, 3:13 pm
  5. #2 It looks as if that graphic in the middle was glued to the shirt

    Posted by canegills | August 11, 2011, 3:13 pm
  6. Cool post… but that is not a strom trooper in #4 it is Boba Fett …

    Posted by Alfrodull | August 11, 2011, 3:22 pm
  7. Really loved this post! Would love to have the film strip hair bows.

    Posted by Janice | August 11, 2011, 3:29 pm
  8. Brilliant ideas! I love unexpected transformations of potential trash into lasting treasure. You might enjoy two posts I did about this called:

    1.”Summer Trash into Christmas Cash ( A Holiday Ecology)”
    http://reinventingtheeventhorizon.wordpress.com/2011/08/08/summer-trash-into-christmas-cash-a-holiday-ecology/

    2. “I’ve Saved some Strange Stuff in the Name of Art.” This post follows the one above.

    Kathy

    Posted by Kathryn McCullough | August 11, 2011, 3:31 pm
  9. This is umbelivebl.

    Posted by Жеженщина | August 11, 2011, 3:36 pm
  10. Okay, I LOVE Star Wars, so this has got to be my favourite post of the day! And I actually laughed out loud when I read “May the drink be with you” – I’m such a dork. Haha.

    This was an awesome post! Thanks so much for sharing! 😀

    Posted by PCC Advantage | August 11, 2011, 3:51 pm
  11. Wow… that shirt idea is really cool! Such creative ideas!

    Posted by I Made You A Mixtape | August 11, 2011, 4:02 pm
  12. The Force is clearly with you…AWESOME stuff and I’ll be making some of these myself. Congrats on being FP too!

    Posted by Howlin' Mad Heather | August 11, 2011, 4:17 pm
  13. I am sooo stealing these ideas!

    Posted by shohpie | August 11, 2011, 4:18 pm
  14. Very clever. Thanks for sharing!

    Posted by ournote2self | August 11, 2011, 4:29 pm
  15. I want that sheet dress! Awesome post; I love all the creative and inspiring ideas. Although, I can’t help pointing out that that’s Boba Fett on the recycled T-shirt pillow, not a storm trooper. 🙂

    Posted by Maureen | August 11, 2011, 4:30 pm
  16. Awesome ways to recycle and reuse ole memorabilia.

    Posted by My Camera, My Friend | August 11, 2011, 4:30 pm
  17. Brilliant and hilarious. I think my flask is in for an upgrade. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

    Posted by Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide | August 11, 2011, 4:34 pm
  18. These are AMAZING!! I might be a little too in love with the flask, the bookmark, and the belt. Giving me new DIY ideas for sure.

    Posted by Katie | August 11, 2011, 4:35 pm
  19. I love this! Number 13 is my favorite. I would totally buy it.

    Posted by ABM | August 11, 2011, 4:41 pm
  20. This is awesome. I see some really creative ideas in here…if only I was more of a memorabilia person. Any ideas for old Star Wars action figures?

    Posted by tmastgrave | August 11, 2011, 4:54 pm
  21. They are AMAZING! Love the flask and dress – really awesome, and using the comic for the flask makes it look soo vintage and cool!

    Posted by graphicdesignandstuff | August 11, 2011, 5:26 pm
  22. Brilliant! I love stuff like this! 😄

    Posted by brokenrapture781 | August 11, 2011, 6:10 pm
  23. wooow so creative. cute. Thanks 🙂

    http://www.JavidSuleymanli.com/

    Posted by javidsuleymanli | August 11, 2011, 6:21 pm
  24. Love it! May the “green” force be with you! go green!

    Posted by Boodoomoo | August 11, 2011, 6:57 pm
  25. i must admitt, i don’t own a single star wars item. but i’m totally into that clock and belt. great ideas and a fun way to make memorabilia wearable and useable.

    Posted by Eva McCane | August 11, 2011, 7:24 pm
  26. Smart!

    Posted by kiyanukim | August 11, 2011, 7:30 pm
  27. I personally like the flask……that would sooo come in handy :p

    Posted by EZPC Recycle, Inc. | August 11, 2011, 7:32 pm
  28. I love the record-converted-clock idea. Congrats on FP!

    Posted by breathingpowderedgold | August 11, 2011, 8:38 pm
  29. Some of those are just too funny; thanks for sharing them!

    Posted by beyondanomie | August 11, 2011, 8:43 pm
  30. interesting design

    Posted by lokun | August 11, 2011, 8:59 pm
  31. very nice ideas

    Posted by Joseph Figgiani | August 11, 2011, 9:27 pm
  32. Love the vintage clock, pin and belt! These are some cool ways to recycle stuff you might have just have stored in a box under the stairs for years.

    Posted by Gradient Productions | August 11, 2011, 9:49 pm
  33. Great suggestions, keep them coming. Below I provided a link to a Star Wars movie poster from Korea, It is fabulous.

    Posted by Colin | August 11, 2011, 9:51 pm
  34. Samcheong Dong, Seoul, Korea

    Posted by Colin | August 11, 2011, 9:52 pm
  35. I don’t have 15 ways but I have two cents and its free. Receive your daily two cents when you visit Wan’s 2 Cents at ku1cornelius.wordpress.com

    Posted by Kuwan Cornelius | August 11, 2011, 9:53 pm
  36. My votes are the hair bows and the clock. Does it really tell time??

    Posted by iampalegreen | August 11, 2011, 10:23 pm
  37. Pretty bad ass! I love the flask!

    Posted by Mike Bobbitt | August 11, 2011, 11:11 pm
  38. I love the pillow idea! SO cute! I should make this for my boyfriend… if only I new how to sew….

    Posted by College & Other Pesky Things | August 12, 2011, 12:06 am
  39. Our generation seems to be more nostalgic than most. That’s why all the movies, TV shows, cartoons, and even the toys we grew up with keep popping up with sequels, prequels, reboots, and the like.

    Posted by Ammon | August 12, 2011, 12:18 am
  40. These are a lot of fun. I was a huge Star Wars fan and I still have all my action figures, lego and posters. Due to still being a fan…. I have to point out that #4 has an error. It says:

    4. Recycled Star Wars T-Shirt Pillow

    Now you can sleep next to Darth Vader, Lando Calrisian and a Storm Trooper! This pillow was made from an old Star Wars t-shirt. Created by mytshirtpillow.

    The Storm Trooper is actually Boba Fett…. I don’t know how that was missed but I am happy to help with the correction.

    I wish I was as creative as these folks….

    Posted by Woods | August 12, 2011, 12:20 am
  41. I guess my shooting the head off a Jar-Jar Binks action figure with a BB rifle doesn’t really qualify as “recycling”, does it?

    The earrings are cool, btw.

    Posted by Steve Lopez | August 12, 2011, 12:32 am
  42. SUPER CREATIVE!

    Posted by Sham | August 12, 2011, 1:11 am
  43. OMG I love the creativity in these items. I’ve never really been into starwars but making something that has been classified “for nerds” so awesome is adorable, it’s almost Geek Chic and that is a serious trend right now.

    Posted by justhaley | August 12, 2011, 1:13 am
  44. Awesome! I’d totally wear the earrings and the belt. I really want the clock, and the coasters are very creative. Thanks for the post!

    Posted by Missey Twisted | August 12, 2011, 1:21 am
  45. I love everything, thank you for sharing great and easy ideas!

    Posted by dianewrites | August 12, 2011, 2:31 am
  46. I love the dress #13. It might just fit me perfectly! 🙂

    Posted by ava812 | August 12, 2011, 2:37 am
  47. El frasco con el robot traductor le veo buena utilidad para llevar la fuerza

    Posted by josé lara | August 12, 2011, 3:00 am
  48. I like the flask and coasters best because they look like they will last a very long time. I am amazed that there are so many ideas on the same topic. Great job pulling it all together – congratulations on the FP feature.

    Posted by Rayme Wells @ A Clean Surface | August 12, 2011, 3:01 am
  49. One word: Awesome!

    Posted by Olivia K | August 12, 2011, 3:50 am
  50. I love the sheet dress too! I wish I had saved some of my Star Wars stuff… I could have recycled the photos from old issues of the magazine at any rate.

    Posted by Bookish Hobbit | August 12, 2011, 3:56 am
  51. I wish I could like every picture / creation but it has no “like” button! Kudos!

    Posted by ylbnoel | August 12, 2011, 4:29 am
  52. This is so impressive how everything become new again. Very talented indeed.

    Posted by Adora | August 12, 2011, 4:54 am
  53. Nicee 😀

    Posted by Subhash | August 12, 2011, 4:59 am
  54. I guess I’d be the type who’d collect the original items, well idk maybe I’d sell what I’ve got (which trust me, is a lot). However, I can’t imagine taking the numerous toys, comics, books, tapes, etc etc etc etc and turning them into some other product that will get ruined (especially since most of it seems to be clothing). I couldn’t stand to know that a pillow made from a rare shirt months after turns yellow from greasy heads or anything else. Even for the action figures I opened as a kid, I kept all the card backs & plastic still on them… the plastic was cut to get the toys out however I figured they’d still be worth tiny bit more to have the original plastic even dangling off, rather than having all the cardbacks in a flip book. I’d just be worried of the value of the things I’ve held onto for so long.

    but this begs the question…. am I keeping these things to enjoy as I did as a child or keeping them solely for money?

    Posted by forbettergenius | August 12, 2011, 5:36 am
  55. OM…..GOODNESS! This truly is…..THE FORCE UNLEASHED! WOW, WHERE CAN I GET THE BELT!!!!

    Posted by thelast90sgirl | August 12, 2011, 5:43 am
  56. I have to do like… All of these

    Posted by Taylor | August 12, 2011, 6:17 am
  57. It seems Star Wars will bling out anything! I wonder if I could make a Star Wars tuxedo (of course i’d have to obtain said Star Wars merchandise for it first)…

    Posted by Wild Bunch | August 12, 2011, 6:31 am
  58. The server is under maintenance, Please visit WordPress Blogagain few hours later.

    Penjv5922

    Posted by Name | August 12, 2011, 6:49 am
  59. Some of these are pretty cool (the flask, the clock, the bookmark…), but honestly and even as a Star Wars fan, I find that some other ones are just looking ugly, like the shirt and the skirt.

    Posted by Stéfan | August 12, 2011, 7:53 am
  60. AWESOMENESS!!!! Creativity like this is just brilliant!

    Posted by kissimoose | August 12, 2011, 8:23 am
  61. Love the post! But personally I would never re purpose my memorabilia.

    Posted by KiNgDeeM | August 12, 2011, 9:02 am
  62. Some things are very ugly but the idea is great!

    Posted by geekaliciouz | August 12, 2011, 9:58 am
  63. Absolutely awesome!! I would so wear that shirt any day! Huge Star Wars fan. Very happy to see someone post a list on how to recycle movie memorabilia.

    Have a great day!

    Renier

    filmcocaine.wordpress.com

    Posted by rpalland | August 12, 2011, 9:59 am
  64. That is cool

    Posted by whatsaysyou | August 12, 2011, 11:38 am
  65. Hello Guy , Nice to meet you.

    Posted by dekvza | August 12, 2011, 11:39 am
  66. This is absolutely BRILLIANT!!!!!! Thank you SO much for posting this!!! Mega Star Wars fan here and these are all amazing!!

    Posted by Jennifer | August 12, 2011, 12:49 pm

Leave a Reply

